A mom dies on a roller coaster ride…..What!?

Image

A mom dies on a roller coaster ride in Texas…..shake my head…WOW!

  A woman died Friday evening in an accident while riding the Texas Giant roller coaster at a Six Flags amusement park in North Texas, authorities said. The accident happened just after 6:30 p.m. Friday at Six Flags over Texas in Arlington. Park spokeswoman Sharon Parker confirmed that a woman died while riding the coaster at Six Flags over Texas in Arlington but did not specify how she was killed. A family in line behind the woman who fell told MyFoxDFW.com that she was on the ride with her daughter and son-in-law. The family said her seat restraint seemed to go down normally before the car left. They said when the train came back, the seat restraint was down.

The family said the woman’s daughter and son-in-law were calling for help. They were screaming, “We need to go get my mom!  “Witnesses told local media outlets that the woman fell from the ride, which is billed as the tallest steel-hybrid roller coaster in the world. “She goes up like this. Then when it drops to come down, that’s when it (the safety bar) released and she just tumbled,” said Carmen Brown of Arlington. Brown said she was waiting in line to get on the ride when the accident happened. “They didn’t secure her right. One of the employees from the park — one of the ladies — she asked her to click her more than once, and they were like, `As long you heard it click, you’re OK.’ Everybody else is like, `Click, click, click.’ Hers only clicked once. Hers was the only one that went down once, and she didn’t feel safe, but they let her still get on the ride,” Brown told The Dallas Morning News. MyFoxDFW.com reported that fire crews had to use a ladder truck to get to the platform below the roller coaster where the woman’s body had fallen. Arlington Fire Department investigators have not confirmed if the restraint came loose, according to the report. Investigators will try to determine Saturday if the woman was not properly secured by staff, as some witnesses accounts contend. Six Flags expressed sadness over the death and said it was temporarily closing the section of the park around the accident site. It didn’t say how long the area would be closed. A message left for Parker by The Associated Press wasn’t returned.

My thoughts

Wow my heart goes out to the family. The worse fear for me is getting on a thrill ride and getting injured. Never do I think that a roller coaster will determine my fate. Now in days what’s a thrill ride without getting scared to the point of no return? The ride wouldn’t be much fun if it didn’t give us a good adrenalin rush right? I am a roller coaster fanatic but I couldn’t imagine being that little boy and having a great time with my mom and she falls off a rollercoaster in the middle of the ride…..shake my head. This is one unfortunate situation because it won’t change anything. I hope it will but what is there to change about the safety of roller coasters? They all seem pretty safe to me. So is this a situation where you say oh well….sucks for her? I couldn’t imagine getting on a ride in the future and not thinking about this mom who was spending time with her kids then not living to see another day because of roller coaster or because of staff not caring enough about each and every seat.

This is one of those 10 ways you never want to leave the earth moments. I always felt like something was wrong with us to want to risk our lives for a thrill. Something could always go wrong on any thrill ride so your never 100% safe, it’s a risk every time. This just makes me think because it surly doesn’t change my perception on theme parks, I don’t know if that’s horrible or not. But I truly feel for her and her family. One thing I will take from this sad story is, every time I get on a ride I will continue to be very cautious of my seat and I will make sure the staff takes a good look at my seat. Staff does it day in and day out so of course it becomes repetitive. Double check people, it may save your life!

4 thoughts on “A mom dies on a roller coaster ride…..What!?

  1. I seen it on CNN not to long after it happened. So sad, and my heart too goes out to her family. This is ALSO a God thought….I know we are not to question why god lets these types of things happen. My answer?? It may or may not have been god’s doing. If it was??? She must of had a pretty important task in Heaven that she was needed in Urgency! I look at all these types of tragedies that way. The planes of 911?? That large croup of people had a much higher calling then we know. God must of needed a crowd in heaven for an important job…… 🙂 🙂 God Bless, Catherine

  2. I’m always terrified before I get on a roller coaster because of all the instances that people have died on them. I still go for the ride because I just feel like you shouldn’t go through your life afraid of everything, so I always say a little prayer and put my life in gods hands before I get on and then thank him after its over lol but that though is always in the back of my mind that I could’ve just lost my life and that thought is so scary.

    • I totaly understand where your coming from. I’m the same way. Scripture says God will not give you a spirit of fear so I go off that, but then I ask my self is it Gods will to even be on a particular ride lol so at the end of the day I guess I just wing it lol. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

